Easter Eggstravaganza

Eggs - fresh from our ducks & hens.

Eggs - fresh from our ducks & hens.

Happy Easter, Cariad!”

I bounded down the creaky old stairs to put the kettle on for the first cuppa of the morning, whilst Tony groaned & huddled himself even deeper under the duvet. 

“I’m really looking forward to my Easter egg….”  I added cheekily, knowing full well he’d completely forgotten – as he does every year – to get me my one singular favourite chocolate indulgence of the year. 

I don’t know what it is about Easter egg chocolate; but I find it irresistable.  It’s something about the rustle of the foil (which for some reason never fits round any remaining egg until there’s only a few crumbs of chocolate,left); the pleasing way the brittle cocoa snaps, then that first creamy, milky taste…..mmmmm.  And the sweetness & solace that chocolate provides, would take my mind away from missing our two lovely horses; the farm seems so empty without them. 

Yesterday’s Easter Market in Pembroke, was disappointingly quiet.  It’s such a shame that more people don’t support this small but vibrant farmers’ market; which has some really diverse but invariably top quality produce on offer.  A few tourists milled through; however from our perspective I’m finding that the major problem is that if they’re staying at one of the local caravan parks, the freezer boxes provided in the fridges are too small to fit our tubs.  However I do have a hardcore of local enthusiasts who invariably appear in the market, smiling & clutching their freezer bags, intent on getting their fortnightly gelato ‘fix’. 

The great news is that next month, Pembrokeshire Produce Direct is being launched; & everyone in the locality will be able to order our gelato online from now on, & have it delivere to their door a couple of days later.  Essentially an online Farmers’ Market, it’s a fantastic idea & will make a very wide range of local produce available to everyone – & for even less than it costs to have a ‘Tesco Direct’ delivery. 

So:  fantastic, fresh, quality produce delivered to your door….what more could anyone wish for?  Only in wonderful Wales….

Incidentally I didn’t get my treasured Easter egg; but feeling sufficiently guilty after I presented him with a chocolate Welsh Lovespoon (of course!) Tony did rush out to try & find one, & bought me some lovely chocolates & a nice bottle of wine, instead.  Lucky I’d already bought myself an Easter egg in anticipation…!   😉

About LittleFfarm Dairy

The LittleFfarm Dairy Team: Jo - Goat farmer & Gelatiere Artigianale, plus General Dogsbody; Tony - Airline Pilot & part-time Herd Manager, Product Taster, Accounts Secretary, Handyman etc!
This entry was posted in Animals, April 2009, Diary, Food, Ice Cream, Life, Local Area, Local Produce, Markets, Wales. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

