Many Tanks!

mar09springsunshinekids-325Heading out to do the chores this morning,

I was amazed to discover that it actually felt WARM in the sunshine.  For the first time in weeks I was able to shed all the layers of woolly clothing & trudge the feed barrow up & down wearing only a thin shirt.  It was lovely. 

Sitting on the edge of one of  our lozenge-shaped concrete 1000-gallon irrigation tanks, which take the waste water from the Milking Parlour & pump it up to the higher fields, I bottle-fed the kids & enjoyed the unspoilt view, swinging my legs over the precipitous drop plunging down into the river valley below. 

Then it occurred to me – what a lovely place to sit & eat breakfast, on a fine day; the sun hits the tanks first thing in the morning &  floods them with early warmth & light.  Grabbing a broom I briskly swept off the top of the tank with the the most panoramic view before hurrying up to the caravan & retrieving a little verdigris bistro table & chairs which have been languishing there, unused, ever since I installed a larger wooden table so that guests can enjoy the magnificent vista of the mountains.

Setting up the table on this unlikely patio I prepared my simple breakfast:  a slice of crunchy homebaked, wholemeal toast & a big brown, golden-yolked soft-boiled egg from Ginger, our Flock Matriarch.  I sat & thoroughly enjoyed my meal, washing it down with a mug of hot, strong tea.  The soft rush of the river relaxed my frayed nerves, exhausted after weeks of kidding; & the sun warmed my aching bones & bruised body.  

This fifteen-minute repast felt like being on holiday, & I was able to appreciate & enjoy an unparallelled view of this lovely, secluded valley, seldom seen.  From here, I can watch the drama of Spring unfold; enjoy the dark green mystery of cool Summer woods in the early dawn; & observe the Autumn sunshine emblazon the trees in gold & bronze as the year begins its final farewell.

A welcome & opportune break; for which I am truly thankful.

Breakfast with a View!

Breakfast with a View!

About LittleFfarm Dairy

The LittleFfarm Dairy Team: Jo - Goat farmer & Gelatiere Artigianale, plus General Dogsbody; Tony - Airline Pilot & part-time Herd Manager, Product Taster, Accounts Secretary, Handyman etc!
This entry was posted in Anything Goes, Diary, Environment, Food, Life, March 2009, MindBodySpirit, Nature, Smallholding. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

