What a Grey Day…!

Ugh, not the fairest of May mornings to wake up to….

…but there again, it was only 2am when the alarm shrilled us awake.  Tony was on shorthaul to Dublin for the day & needed to be at Heathrow for 8am – hence the early start.  By the time I’d waved goodbye an hour later, it hardly seemed worth going to bed; & the rest of what was left of the night was spent in a semi-somnambulent state, until I rose to a grey but thankfully dry dawn. 

However, just about the time I was feeding our feisty felines their much-demanded breakfast whilst studiously burning my own toast, the heavens opened; & I grumpily trudged out onto the yard to be welcomed by the inevitability of a now steady downpour.  Entering the yard via the haybarn so that I could give Merson & his chums, Brian & Virginia, the first course of their breakfast en route to the rest of the hungry hordes, I noted with dismay that water was already overflowing the vast gutters & splashing down the walls of our ancient Long Barn: something needed to be done, & quickly.

It soon became apparrent that the detritus of spring blossom & the zesty green of wind-torn new leaves had smothered the guttering – landing, of course, in all the most inaccessible places.  So I hauled out a ladder & propped it precarioulsy against the old wall, the feet of the ladder dancing a jig on the uneven ground as I edged my way cautiously upwards.  I didn’t dare get as far as the point where I could actually see anything for fear of falling; so had to rely on fishing blindly in the murky, freezing water to clear the blockages…..ugh, & this is the time of year when the nestlings that didn’t quite make it are usually floating around in there…..

Thankfully, it would appear the bird population has so far enjoyed a healthy start to the season as on this occasion all I grasped was slimy handfuls of icy wet leaves.  Meanwhile the water stealthily ran in rivulets down my neck & trickled into my shirt leaving me cold, wet & feeling decidedly wintry; which considering it’s almost the end of May, doesn’t bode well.  Still, it is a Bank Holiday – so rain was pretty much guaranteed anyway.

There was a brief respite from the rain in the afternoon during which time I did a little work in the greenhouse to restore my flagging summer spirits, watering plants & checking on the progress of my now decidedly leggy seedlings which I’d hoped to plant out this week but judging by the forecast, doubt I’ll be able to.  Silli – the One-eyed Wonderpuss – with a great deal of proud meowling, unfortunately presented me with the pathetically broken body of a great tit; I just hope he doesn’t have a nest close by.  I cleaned out the ducks’ pen just in time for the next onslaught of showers, which inevitably signalled the start of a gruelling round of evening chores. 

Curled up with a heartwarming bowl of stew this evening to stave off the unseasonable chill, Tony & I chatted about our recent product trials & about the impending business launch, totting up all the things still needing to be done.  Ah goodness, this year seems to be flying by…..especially I suppose for Tony, for whom it literally is!

 

About LittleFfarm Dairy

The LittleFfarm Dairy Team: Jo - Goat farmer & Gelatiere Artigianale, plus General Dogsbody; Tony - Airline Pilot & part-time Herd Manager, Product Taster, Accounts Secretary, Handyman etc!
This entry was posted in Diary, Fruit & Veg, Life, May 2008, Smallholding. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What a Grey Day…!

  1. Doesn’t a hearty stew or soup on a rainy evening just make things seem so much better. Yesterday I was out in the relentless drizzle for a few hours digging out the last part of my large veg plot (it’s taken me MONTHS). When I got the chickens into bed and brought the bunbuns in, with the cats draped everywhere and had a bowl of homemade vegetable soup, I didn’t mind the rain and wind so much.

  2. Kate says:

    Working in the greenhouse and homemade vegetable soup will always work wonders on cold rainy days. Today is one of the first cold days we’ve had in weeks, but no rain, just grey overcast and miserable, I think I’ll go check out the greenhouse.

Leave a Reply

