I Don’t Like Mondays….

Hmmmmm…….now let me see:

I thought I was a farmer.  Obviously not; I seem to spend more time doing office work these days, than anything else.  Of course, there’s still around eight hour’s worth of general chores to complete each day, but they don’t really count as the bulk happen before most people have even considered getting up for work or long after they’ve come home, have cooked & eaten their evening meal & are sprawled in front of the telly (unless, I suspect, they’re fellow smallholders). 

But for most of the day I was frantically wading through a vast mound of paperwork when all I wanted was to be outside in the sunshine, working on my veggie patch or overhauling the hothouse, both of which desperately need work.  No such luck.

I had to speak to a Business Bank Manager, reference one of our loan applications; I had to glean more information reference quantities & costs of packaging; there was a press photo session to organise; a lengthly discussion with Trading Standards; a query to sort out regarding Intellectual Property Rights; design work to evaluate & organise; & a plethora of other paperwork which just wouldn’t & couldn’t wait.

It seems that everything backs up during dismal weekends – & the deadlines are always tighter when I least need them to be.  And farming’s all about being out in the fresh air, doncha know….?!

 

About LittleFfarm Dairy

The LittleFfarm Dairy Team: Jo - Goat farmer & Gelatiere Artigianale, plus General Dogsbody; Tony - Airline Pilot & part-time Herd Manager, Product Taster, Accounts Secretary, Handyman etc!
This entry was posted in Anything Goes, April 2008, Business, Diary, Farming, Life, Smallholding. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

