Oh, Chit – I’m Sorry….!

Today, with my profound apologies, I’ll have to be brief:

I’ve come down with an absolutely stinking cold & am doped up to the eyeballs with paracetamol etc – although one eyeball is also decidedly bloodshot, & excrucuatingly painful.  I managed to get a hayseed lodged under my left eyelid the other day & whilst I eventually managed to get it out around dawn, it’s become increasingly painful to the extent that I literally haven’t been able to do much more than the basic chores, & start chitting my potatoes; the eye is so sore & weeping that I haven’t even been able to look up at the computer screen for more than a couple of seconds at a time. 

And with the raw wind outside I ended up having to cobble together a makeshift eye patch from a cotton wool pad, a piece of kitchen roll & some micropore tape to protect it, which the goats found most amusing.  So I’m afraid that unlike the previous few days’ hive of activity I haven’t been able to do much other than rest up a little – thank goodness the girls have taken pity on me, & nobody’s gone into labour.  I doubt I’d have been much use…..

You could say, I felt like ‘chit’; so at least the Pink Fir Apples are on their way now.

P.S. Keep a beady eye out for the ‘Fairy Spudmother’ – alas no prizes (sorry!)  for those who spot the venerable Stonehead ‘Intruder’ as soon as I can post up the ‘Pink n’ Firry-apple’ photos….heeheehee!). 

About LittleFfarm Dairy

The LittleFfarm Dairy Team: Jo - Goat farmer & Gelatiere Artigianale, plus General Dogsbody; Tony - Airline Pilot & part-time Herd Manager, Product Taster, Accounts Secretary, Handyman etc!
This entry was posted in Diary, Fruit & Veg, Goats, Life, March 2008, Smallholding, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oh, Chit – I’m Sorry….!

  1. katie says:

    Poor you, Jo. These things tend to happen when you’re exhausted so perhaps it’s just as well you have to take it easy for today. Hopefully you’ll be fit and ready for all the kiddings they’re holding off till tomorrow!

  2. Good grief, you’ve been through the mill even more than me! Hope your eye sorts itself out soon!

    Ahh pink fir apples, I’m currently chitting those too at the Smallest Smallholding. I think the neighbour’s cat missed those, the maris pipers got the biggest soaking of pee. So there is still hope!

  3. LittleFfarm Dairy says:

    Pink Fir Apples are my favourite – delicious, although more of a challenge to chit as they don’t sit up easily in the eggboxes!

    Mind you, if you think this was going through the mill I’m about to publish a post called ‘Knife Edge’ – watch out for it, as it really spells out the trials & tribulations of smallholding, especially when feeling below par.

    I really do sympathise that you’re being messed around by the planners reference your allotment; we had a nightmare with trying to get our new building through – which all hinged on the hopes & dreams of starting our dairy business. And now it’s nowhere near ready because of the delays; so we’re up to our ears in goats, kids – & milk we can’t do anything with as we don’t have Dairy Hygiene approval because the building is nowhere ready yet. We can’t trade; we’re losing money. It’s a nightmare.

    Meanwhile I do hope your planners – if they ultimately decide to build on your plot – do the decent thing & provide you & the other allotment holders, with a suitable alternative. And you’ve got to feel sorry for the chap with the ‘dream allotment’ that you described…..as it’ll be a level playing field (or should I say veg patch) if you do all move!

    Anyway must go as I’m literally on my knees, trying to writing this – not just with exhaustion but also trying to feed a demanding little Lady Goat kid who’s moved into the house for a while until she’s strong enough to join her chums. All in a day’s work, eh….?

Leave a Reply

