Powerless

Alas, the fine weather had to end sometime, I suppose.

It was a greyer day than yesterday; with low cloud obscuring the mountains to the west & the mills to the east.  Whilst working in the goat shed I was alarmed to find the building plunged into darkening gloom as the power failed.  I checked the internal switches in the hope of determining the problem & discovered that a circuit breaker in the tractor shed appeared to have tripped.  However, on my ungainly scrambling onto Tony’s workbench to reset the switch, still nothing happened…. 

I think the fog had obscured my memory as well as the hills.  On returning to the house I discovered the power failure ran completely across the whole farm, not just the lower yard; there was no power to the house either.  Then I recalled that we’d had a letter a few days before, advising us of a potential outage; & on unearthing it from the inevitable pile of bills I discovered that today was indeed the day.   

So I had to satisfy myself with getting my head stuck into the books to catch up on my Welsh revision after which the power returned, & I was able to cook the on-site workforce plates of hot, home-grown egg & bacon butties as a foil to the cold. 

With the weather being pretty gloomy I did some office work; updating Business Plan & discussing the problems surrounding the progression of the Dairy Complex with Paul, who further advised me the build foreman had instructed him with additional concreting which had not been specified as part of the original groundworks plan; cementing in all the door frames – ergo, more unscheduled expense. 

I spoke to Michael at Food Centre Wales with regard to using to using their premises for trials; because at this rate, our process rooms – let alone my precious vat, aren’t going to be installed for months.  If we can at least only get the milking parlour & ancilliaries up & running with Dairy Hygiene approval, I could if necessary work from Horeb – fair distance away though it is – for a little while at least, as their equipment is similar to ours; although again, the whole registration process has transpired to be far more complex that I’d anticipated.  And it is, also, a relatively expensive option to begin with at least…..

As the setting sun cast a gloomy pall over the bones of our still-skeletal Dairy Complex I carried out my standard semi-nocturnal scouring of the site for offcuts of wood – in the relentless tradition of smallholding, nothing will go to waste!

Nor can we afford it to……because it feels today, that it wasn’t just the electricity which petered out; once the building is up, it’s as if we will have ground to a financial halt. 

I just feel so powerless.

About LittleFfarm Dairy

The LittleFfarm Dairy Team: Jo - Goat farmer & Gelatiere Artigianale, plus General Dogsbody; Tony - Airline Pilot & part-time Herd Manager, Product Taster, Accounts Secretary, Handyman etc!
This entry was posted in Business, Dairy, Diary, February 2008, Life, Smallholding. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

