Raking Up Is Hard To Do….

Thankfully I woke to welcome clear blue skies & pleasant if a little chilly sunshine;

but whether because of the fumes from the Rayburn I don’t know, I felt a bit ‘under the weather’ all day with a headache & sharpness at the back of my throat.  Time to be outside!  Paul – one of the contractors working on landscaping the groundworks for the Dairy Complex – kindly visited in the afternoon to assess the damage to the drive & see what might be done about effective repairs; but said he certainly wouldn’t attempt to come down in his van owing to its’ current state; heartbreaking considering the time, effort & money we’ve poured into it, & have now now seen the gravel pouring away down the drive! 

Worried I wouldn’t be able to successfully negotiate it for my Welsh lesson tomorrow I ventured up to do some temporary patch repairs; as ever, armed with spade, rake & barrow although I was going to be somewhat more careful today as last time I managed to damage my arm (good old ‘tennis elbow’ – never liked the game much & I can’t say I enjoy this old ‘game’, either!).  But at least in the sun it was quite pleasant & good to be out in the fresh air doing vigorous exercise rather than being stuck in a sweaty gym. 

Whilst working, I had a visit from Rhydian (not he of X Factor fame, incidentally!), a neighbour who lives in one of the nearby villages & is after a milking goat.  Unfortunately as I had to get the necessary repairs done before dark – & the drive is almost half a mile long – I couldn’t spare the time to take him round the farm to meet the milky ladies; although I’ve assured him he can come back as soon as the driveway has been properly restored (I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone in an ordinary car, right now anyway!).

Back at home I cared for the animals & again whilst treating Morganna’s mastitic udder I was delighted to find the hardness has all but gone, although there’s still a fair bit of the squidgy cottage cheesey stuff still splurging out, yuk.  Nanuk was also far more disciplined at feeding time although I suspect this evening will be a ‘howler’ night as the big half moon has been hanging low in the sky all day & it always seems to set her off unfortunately.

I managed to catch up with Tony for a chat before he went out for a meal with his crew – understandably I was quite concerned after the bombing yesterday; but on his return he sent me a message to advise me that this time their repast had been thankfully uneventful. 

I did some paperwork & caught up with some emails; & also had a look on recommendation at some fascinating kinetic art by sculptor Theo Jansen – click the link in ‘Culture’ if you’re interested, his herd of beach beasts is a fascinating & beautiful project.  This reminded me of the work of an old friend of mine, Angela Conner who creates stunning sculptures powered mainly by water; her garden near Hay on Wye, where she sets up many of her experimental prototypes, is a truly inspirational, wonderful place in a magical setting.  After all, as I was raking patterns in the gravel today, it made me muse that art is life, life is art; & each & every one of us is a marvellous example of beautiful kinetic sculpture.  I must remember to remember that, next time I look in the mirror….!!

About LittleFfarm Dairy

The LittleFfarm Dairy Team: Jo - Goat farmer & Gelatiere Artigianale, plus General Dogsbody; Tony - Airline Pilot & part-time Herd Manager, Product Taster, Accounts Secretary, Handyman etc!
This entry was posted in Animals, Culture, Diary, January 2008, Life, Livestock, Smallholding, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

