Fowl Play

 It turned out to be a busy morning,

as we tried to pack a lot in before Tony left this afternoon to go to Cornwall (at long last, it’s the inquest into my sister Melissa’s death, tomorrow; & he’s kindly attending on my behalf & as moral support for my Dad). 

Just as he bid me farewell Boo came over to go through some Welsh revision as tomorrow we have our first lesson of the New Year – with a new teacher in a new venue – so we want to be prepared…!  Being a cold afternoon I lit the fire although annoyingly there wasn’t much draw, so I had to work quite hard to get it going (not that I should complain….too much wind, & we’ll lose the barn roof!).  After working on our revision for a couple of hours Boo assisited with the evening chores & helped me treat Morganna’s mastitis, after which I gave my friend an impromptu lesson on how to milk a goat, which she really enjoyed & got the hang of it very quickly (well, you never know when you might need such a valuable life skill…!). 

I spent a relatively relaxing evening watching the final installment of Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s “Chicken Run” programme – I must say it was very disappointing to see people who had expressed shock & even tears at the broiler houses, back in the supermarket still buying the cheap, intensively-reared birds after all they’d witnessed; even after being shown the true economy of how to make a single free-range carcase go so much further in terms of meals. 

Next to be served up on tonight’s TV menu, was a programme on veal calves – part of the “Kill it! Cook it! Eat it!” series.  The calves were evidently very well-raised, although I was surprised to learn how soon they are taken off their mums; I understood it took four days to run colostrum through the udder & that young animals should be allowed the full benefit of this. 

Unfortunately I missed quite a bit of  the programme as Tony ‘phoned after going out for a meal with Dad & Melissa’s partner; poor Peter, it was his birthday today & obviously nobody really felt like celebrating as the inquest hangs over us all like a big black cloud.  It is not going to be an easy day, tomorrow I suspect…

About LittleFfarm Dairy

The LittleFfarm Dairy Team: Jo - Goat farmer & Gelatiere Artigianale, plus General Dogsbody; Tony - Airline Pilot & part-time Herd Manager, Product Taster, Accounts Secretary, Handyman etc!
This entry was posted in Animals, Dairy, Diary, Family, January 2008, Life, Livestock, Poultry, Smallholding. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

