Things that go BUMP in the night…

Blimey!  I was rudely torn from the gentle arms of slumber in the early hours,

 by a loud crash; from which my befuddled brain could not initally register the whereabouts.  I soon realised it had come from the spare room but to my alarm realised of course that Mum & Dad had vacated it, hours before….

Despite my tremulous fear I ventured therein clutching a stout hammer (left post Tony’s typical DIY chaos after installing the luxury of a storage heater in the master bedroom to dry out the saturated west wall after the chimney collapsed earlier in the year); & discovered to my relief, that there was neither intruder nor ghost in the room; only a displaced picture which had fallen from the wall but thankfully was not at all damaged.   

Having subsequently suffered a disturbed night I felt quite drained by daylight; an onset of uncharacteristic exhaustion not helped by the grim & gloomy weather besetting the Ffarm.  I set to work with compiling my article for ‘Smallholder’ magazine, & making some initial arrangements for five unexpected new arrivals to the goat herd over the next few days – a fine little flotilla of British Toggenburgs are visiting us from Devon as their owners will be moving to Portugal in the near future.  Although they haven’t yet sold their lovely, picturesque property the reason for the early transfer is twofold:  firstly, so that the four females can be served by our magnificent, amorous stud, Merson; & secondly, to avoid any prospective livestock movements ban imposed with the recommencement of the midge season leading to the unhappy resurrection of BTV in the UK.

Otherwise it was a generally quiet day on the farm; which was just as well, because I was myself starting to feel a bit ‘under the proverbial weather’.  I painstakingly prepared a sumptuous stew from all the leftovers in the cold room; it took a while, but was well worth the resultant deliciously heartwarming meal. 

So I opted for an early night; & feeling full of impending sniffles, I hoped a good night’s sleep – with none of the previous ghoulies, ghosties or long-leggety beasties, might improve matters…..

About LittleFfarm Dairy

The LittleFfarm Dairy Team: Jo - Goat farmer & Gelatiere Artigianale, plus General Dogsbody; Tony - Airline Pilot & part-time Herd Manager, Product Taster, Accounts Secretary, Handyman etc!
This entry was posted in Animals, Anything Goes, Cooking, December 2007, Diary, Farming, Food, Life, Livestock. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

