Life Begins at 40 (allegedly)

Yah boo hiss,

today was my fortieth birthday.  Tony, being absent at work in Damascus, had sent me a stunning bouquet of lillies & roses; although unfortunately they were supposed to arrive a couple of days ago, & were rather the worse for wear by the time I received them, the roses having wilted somewhat.  So I carried out the chores alone; & the goats, being no respecter of celebration, duly gave me characteristic grief at being late with their breakfast when I luxuriated in an extra half hour in bed!

After doing the milking I occupied myself with giving the machinery a deep clean; & also mucked out the poultry, standard Sunday activities which they cannot do for themselves of course.  I then took a few experimental photos with the new camera Mum & Dad had bought me although as it was a rather grey & bitterly cold day, I did not achieve that elusively spectacular shot I’d hoped for.

But what proved especially exciting, was that the plant equipment for doing the groundworks to the new Dairy Complex arrived this afternoon – so I felt that our new life really does begin, today.  Fantastic!!

Friends & neighbours were determined that I would not spend my entire birthday in isolation; & I was invited up the hill for a delicious celebratory meal of satay skewers, a luxuriously thick game casserole & (my favourite!) a wickedly boozy banana trifle – complete with candles (Not That Many, I’m relieved to report). 

All this was washed down with refreshing glasses of ‘fizz’; & we spent the rest of the evening in pleasant conversation whilst ‘Small’, the recently-adopted kitten, made it his mission to rip my ‘fairy-liquid’ hands, to shreds! 

But what a marvellously memorable evening – it’s been a great birthday weekend in spite of Tony’s unfortunate absence, far too many miles away.  At least I am so very lucky to have such wonderful friends & family!

Anyway – wish me Many Happy Returns – meanwhile I’m off to polish my zimmer frame….!!

About LittleFfarm Dairy

The LittleFfarm Dairy Team: Jo - Goat farmer & Gelatiere Artigianale, plus General Dogsbody; Tony - Airline Pilot & part-time Herd Manager, Product Taster, Accounts Secretary, Handyman etc!
This entry was posted in Animals, Business, Cooking, December 2007, Diary, Food, Life, Smallholding. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Life Begins at 40 (allegedly)

  1. Nora says:

    Happy Birthday!And many cheesy returns! And while I’m at it, happy holidays too!
    Pat the goats for me, Nora

  2. LittleFfarm Dairy says:

    Thanks, Nora!

    And Season’s Greetings to you, too. To celebrate I indulged in the perfect pasttime – started a batch of my favourite cheese: a lovely semi-soft that’s really versatile (only problem I find with this one is controlling my vat temperature – the milk is coagulated at 40C – slightly lower than for cows’ milk of course – but the temperature in my little vat does tend to run away unless I watch it like a hawk). What better way to relax though?!

    Have given the goats their pats – & Vine (who’s especially affectionate) – sent you a big hug back!

  3. Barmy PGT says:

    You are the sexiest Zimmer Frame Rider I know JK ! Glad you had a good time xx

  4. LittleFfarm Dairy says:

    Cor, many thanks –

    you’ve made me feel young again!!

  5. Many happy returns! I have been reading and thoroughly enjoying your dairy diary since visiting you on behalf of WAG to discuss grant opportunities.
    As you begin your new 40+ life, all the best for the future and every success.
    Best wishes,
    David.

  6. LittleFfarm Dairy says:

    Thanks, David –

    it was lovely to meet you, & I’m glad you’re enjoying the Blog, it’s incredibly heartening to get positive feedback.

    Tony’s been working on our revised Business Plan over the last few days so hopefully we’ll have more WAG discussions in the near future. And now the groundworks are finally underway we really feel we’re getting somewhere at last!

    And thank you for your warm wishes – very much appreciated & makes us feel it’s all worth the blood, sweat & tears!

  7. smallholder says:

    Well, I’m two days late wishing you a happy, happy birthday! Joyeux anniversaire from us here in Normandy!

  8. LittleFfarm Dairy says:

    Merci beaucoup, mes amies –

    or should I say, ‘murky buckets’ for today at least – I’m off to break the ice on all the troughs as it’s a bit ‘brass monkeys’/ il fait tres froid. There will certainly be some blue snails about here – but thankfully frozen ones!

    Anyway better late than never, I always say: good things come to those who wait! Many thanks for your good wishes.

Leave a Reply

