Picture Purrfect

Ugh, for some reason I suffered a restless night;

probably because I was turning business branding over & over in my head; plus there was the less-than-pleasant prospect that Tony would be going away, again; this time, absent for my ‘milestone’ fortieth birthday in a few days’ time.  Subsequently I rose later than I’d intended; & had to hurry into Carmarthen to stock up on animal feed & begin a bit of Christmas grocery shopping in an attempt to beat the mad rush which will inevitably punctuate next week’s proceedings. 

By the time I returned home, Tony was almost ready to set off; but he kindly unloaded the heavy sacks of feed from the back of the truck before having a hasty bath whilst I finished off the farm chores.  As yesterday, it was again heavily overcast; however as rain was not apparently imminent I opted to let the goats out to graze for the afternoon.

Shortly afterwards, it was time for Tony to go; & I found that whilst I’m normally pretty sanguine at his departure having steeled myself over time to the inevitable, it was with a pang of loneliness & a heavy heart that I bid him farewell – it will certainly be a quiet birthday without him here to share the occasion. 

However, I cheered up a little when Mum & Dad’s birthday present – my new camera – arrived; although I had to endure the inevitably frustrating wait while the battery charged before I could play with it!  To keep myself occupied meanwhile I busied myself, working on the farmyard; & of course, once the door was closed for the day, on starting & renneting a little seven-litre batch of Carn Ingli chevre before setting it to coagulate overnight, the gentle stirring always a therapeutic way to wind down.

I then spent an enjoyable evening learning how to use the new camera; & I was extremely impressed; even the video feature is of superb quality & crystal clear. It takes black-&-white, & sepia photos; & pictures taken in low light conditions display remarkable clarity & definition. 

So after a rather reclusive day I opened the door of the woodburner & with a log crackling on the hearth concluded the evening by quietly reading my treasured volume of the Mont-Laurier Benedictine Nuns’ work on small-scale production of goat cheese; after which I opted for an early night, snuggled up with cats Silli & Nevada, who inevitably took advantage of Tony’s absence & the deliciously warm duvet to keep me company in my unaccustomed loneliness as somewhere above the world he flew off into the night; far, far away.

About LittleFfarm Dairy

The LittleFfarm Dairy Team: Jo - Goat farmer & Gelatiere Artigianale, plus General Dogsbody; Tony - Airline Pilot & part-time Herd Manager, Product Taster, Accounts Secretary, Handyman etc!
This entry was posted in December 2007, Diary, Life, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

