Aniseedy

Well my goodness, what a change from yesterday!

I was rudely torn from the tranquil arms of Morpheus in the profound, pitch darkness of pre-dawn by the sound of rain lashing the cottage roof with extraordinary ferocity.  Wrapping myself in an extra sweater I trudged downstairs to stoke the slumbering fire.  The start – & indeed the end, of today could not have been in greater contrast to yesterday’s eerily frozen luminescence: the rhythm of night falling with the deepest of dark, a warm wind teasing tendrils of hair across my obscured sight with sighs that rocked the swaying trees, invisible in the dusky, shade-deepened shadows of the mysterious valley. 

Until then I braved stinging squalls of unforgiving rain to do the chores, the goats complaining vociferously that they were confined indoors for the day.  I was relieved to note that Morganna’s mastitic udder does appear to be gradually improving & that she was still producing a reasonable amount of milk, not far off that of her peers in terms of sustained yield, in fact. 

Thus, thanks to the dramatic change in the weather, I was forced to spend most of the morning indoors sorting through paperwork.  I indulged myself in a quick look at the website of my favourite band – OMD (being Saturday, after all); & was frustrated to learn that most people seemed to have received their pre-ordered copies of the long-awaited ‘Souvenir’ DVD, a documentary of the band’s early years to celebrate the 25th anniversary of their highly acclaimed ‘Architecture & Morality’ album (ooerr…!!).  So I resolved to brave the harshness of the showers to take the dog for a walk in order to check the contents of the postbox, in a roundabout way….alas, nothing.  And Nanuk chose today to be particularly difficult; so carrying the rest of the post was a particular problem, especially as dropping any would mean a handful of wet, muddy envelopes to retrieve.

The rest of the afternoon & evening was occupied with processing milk into bags; a tedious & messy job, but occasionally necessary if I’m to have a supply of milk to experiment with over the leaner months.  After Quae’s visit yesterday I had intended to weigh & categorise our fleeces; however the weather was simply too damp & unpredictable to take them across the yard & assess them using the scales in the dairy.  

And so, instead of the much-anticipated OMD DVD I reluctantly conceded to spending the close of evening curled up in front of the fire with a good book.  I broke into a bottle of Rakù, which was lurking in the garage – however not intentionally & in fact quite literally, smashing it as I swung round with the heavy milkchurn.  So now the garage smells overpoweringly of aniseed, which I can’t stand….oh, what a soggily exasperating day.

About LittleFfarm Dairy

The LittleFfarm Dairy Team: Jo - Goat farmer & Gelatiere Artigianale, plus General Dogsbody; Tony - Airline Pilot & part-time Herd Manager, Product Taster, Accounts Secretary, Handyman etc!
This entry was posted in Diary, Entertainment, Life, Livestock, Nature, November 2007, Smallholding. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

