Tip of the Iceberg

Another cold, damp day;

it seems the inclement winter weather is finally on its way.  We carried on with Morganna’s treatment, although so far there has been no noticeable improvement in the lumps in her udder.  Tony spent much of the day servicing his chainsaw & cutting up some more firewood, whilst I tended to my cheese, piling the curds carefully into the open-ended, cylindrical moulds I’m using. 

My 20 litres of milk produced a satisfyingly substantial yield of curd: as the lactation cycle draws on, whilst the milk yield drops the quality improves, with a richer percentage of butterfats & proteins.  I will be interested to see how much further drainage occurs to the curds over the next 24 hours; I don’t think I overdid the pré-égouttage as on checking the process, I opted to go onto the mould-filling stage after about 18 hours of draining in the curd bags – so if anything (according to the recipe I’m trying out) the curds are more moist than they need to be.  Time & taste will be the ultimate judges, I suppose! 

I must say though, it’s an easier job to put the curds in the moulds after pre-draining them; I normally find it quite a trial with the open moulds as unless the surface on which I’m doing the draining is completely flat, I find the curd splurges out of the bottom of the moulds – often with such a ferocity that I end up covered in blobs of whey!

Whist the making of cheese can be a relaxing pasttime however, there was a tension between Tony & I today which led to harsh words being spoken & unhappiness all round.  We’ve been ‘niggling’ at each other for a few days now & the atmosphere finally became quite explosive when the wretched washing machine packed up (yet again) despite being repaired only the other day; the drier stopped working for the second time.  I contacted Hotpoint; however they really weren’t interested that I’d have to cancel yet another gelato workshop if an engineer could not be located today (which of course, one couldn’t).  Tony suggested staying at home tomorrow, if an engineer was available; however, I particularly wanted him to attend tomorrow’s demonstration as the equipment would be of particular interest; & a useful comparison for him after Tuesday’s visit to Carpigiani.  So, we will have to wait for yet another week – next Wednesday – before the machine can be fixed.  Thank goodness we have the ‘Lazy Susan’ over the Rayburn & so have some hope of getting our clothes dry.

But I cannot fathom the frosty atmosphere; Tony snaps at the slightest thing, & I really feel as if I am treading on eggshells, again.  It’s such a shame as I am really looking forward to the course, tomorrow; we should be excitedly looking ahead to our future, not storing up past hurts & using them as weapons against each other.

About LittleFfarm Dairy

The LittleFfarm Dairy Team: Jo - Goat farmer & Gelatiere Artigianale, plus General Dogsbody; Tony - Airline Pilot & part-time Herd Manager, Product Taster, Accounts Secretary, Handyman etc!
This entry was posted in Cheese, Diary, Life, November 2007. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

