Cardigan Weather

Goodness, the cold weather has really set in –

it’s definitely time to pull on a big handspun wool cardigan & a stout pair of boots before shivering my way onto the farmyard.  I’d sent Tony to the Carpigiani Gelato University in Hereford for the day, to learn about small-scale ice cream production.  We were supposed to be going together; however, as this was the earliest we could get the engineer to visit to fix the washing machine – & we’ve been without it for at least a couple of weeks now – I had to miss the course & stay at home.

Thankfully the engineer arrived really early – at around 8am – & was extemely helpful, mending the machine with the minimum of fuss & mess before hurrying off on the next busy callout.  I busied myself with the usual farmwork & did a bit of research into artisan ice cream, myself; so that I could discuss ice cream production with Tony on his return.

Meanwhile I checked up on my cheesemaking, which I’d started, yesterday; after about 22 hours the curd was ready to be carefully ladled into the straining bags & suspended over a bucket to catch any draining whey.  It’ll stay in the curd bags for about another 24 hours, until tomorrow; when the next task will be to ladle it into the cheese moulds.  Although I’m not entirely happy with the forms I’ll be using as they are open-ended & not easy to turn when full, I’ll give them a go, at least.

Tony arrived home from his course reasonably early, & assisted with Morganna’s evening mastitis treatment before we settled down to discuss what he’d learned about, during the day.  He’d been given a set of interesting course notes, which I read; & he was fired up with enthusiasm for the whole venture.   And so – huddled beside the fire on a cold Cardiganshire evening, we dreamed of warmer weather & the delight of creating our favourite frozen foodstuff – big bowlfuls of delicious gelato artigianale.  One day….

About LittleFfarm Dairy

The LittleFfarm Dairy Team: Jo - Goat farmer & Gelatiere Artigianale, plus General Dogsbody; Tony - Airline Pilot & part-time Herd Manager, Product Taster, Accounts Secretary, Handyman etc!
This entry was posted in Business, Cheese, Dairy, Diary, Food, Ice Cream, November 2007. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

